Skip to Content


2014 Human & Civil Rights Awards Winners

Congratulations to the Recipients of the 2014 National Education Association Human and Civil Rights Awards!

Award Category

Award Recipient

César Chávez Acción y Compromiso Human and Civil Rights Award

Dr. Rodolfo Acuña (CA)

Ellison S. Onizuka Memorial Award

Senator Daniel K. Akaka (HI)

George I. Sánchez Memorial Award

Mr. Daniel Rodriguez (AZ)

H. Councill Trenholm Memorial Award (Black)

Mr. Edward White (KY)

Leo Reano Memorial Award

Coeur D’Alene Tribe (ID)

Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial Award

Reverend Fred Lee Shuttlesworth (posthumously) (AL)

Mary Hatwood Futrell Award

Miss Malala Yousafzai

Reg Weaver Human and Civil Rights Award

Mr. Evan Robbins (NJ)

Rosa Parks Memorial Award

Mrs. Coretta Scott King (posthumously) (GA)

Rosena J. Willis Memorial Award (Local Affiliate)

El Paso Teachers Association (TX)

SuAnne Big Crow Memorial Award

Mr. Jack Hishmeh (KS)

Virginia Uribe Award for Creative Leadership in Human Rights

Mr. Tim Gill (CO)

Previous Awards Winners



  • 2014 Human and Civil Rights Awards Brochure
  • 2014 Human and Civil Rights Awards Flyer


  • anc_dyn_linksJoint Conference on Concerns of Minorities and Women