Skip to Content

Read Across America State Contacts and Activities

Read Across America National Contacts

Looking for information from NEA's Read Across America? Feel free to contact Read Across America's national coordinator Anita Merina, amerina@nea.org or 202-822-7289 with any questions, concerns, or updates. For press inquiries, contact Staci Maiers, smaiers@nea.org.

What's happening in your state?

The Read Across America pledge site will provide you ongoing updates on activities in your state and around the country. You'll be able to post your events, check out a google map identifying event locations, and check out a list of events and their locations.

Help your members get noticed

State Associations can coordinate getting the word out about member-sponsored events. Check out this list of helpful public relations tools.

Don't see an entry for your community?

Keep checking and by all means, let us us know about your Read Across America plans by pledging to participate. We'll add them to the listed activities.


Alabama Education Association

David Stout

422 Dexter Avenue
Montgomery, AL 36103
334-834-9790
dstout@alaedu.org

NEA-Alaska

Lori Blakeslee

4100 Spenard Road
Anchorage, AK 99517
907-274-0536
Lori.blakeslee@neaalaska.org

Arizona Education Association

Sheenae Shannon

345 East Palm Lane
Phoenix, AZ 85004
602-264-1774, Ext. 115
sheenae.shannon@arizonaea.org

Arkansas Education Association

Rich Nagel

1500 W. 4th St.
Little Rock, AR 72201
501-375-4611
ar-rnagel@nea.org

California Teachers Association

Tiffany Hasker

1705 Murchison Drive
Burlingame, CA 90410
650-552-5372
thasker@cta.org

Colorado Education Association

Mike Wetzel

1500 Grant Street
Denver, CO 80203
303-837-1500
mwetzel@coloradoea.org

Connecticut Education Association

Laurel Killough

21 Oak Street, Suite 500
Hartford, CT 06106
860-525-5641
Laurelk@cea.org

Delaware State Education Association

Pamela Nichols

136 E. Water St.
Dover, DE 19901
302-734-5834
pamela.nichols@dsea.org

Federal Education Association (DoDEA, AE and AP U.S. Military Schools)

Gary Hritz

1201 16th Street, NW
Washington, D.C. 20036
202-822-7855
Ghritz@nea.org

Florida Education Association

Jacqui Sisto

213 S. Adams Street

Tallahassee, FL 32301
850-228-5443

Jacqui.sisto@floridaea.org

Georgia Association of Educators

Kevin Pearson

100 Crescent Centre Parkway, Ste. 500
Tucker, GA 30094
678-837-1129 (voice) 678-837-1140 (fax)
kevin.pearson@gae.org

Hawaii State Teachers Association

Teri Tanaka

2828 Pa'a St., Suite 2050
Honolulu, HI 96819
808-833-2711
ttanaka@hsta.org 

Idaho Education Association

Whitney Rearick

620 N. 6th St.
Boise, ID 83701
208-954-5804

wrearick@idahoea.org

Illinois Education Association

Sarah Antonacci

100 E. Edwards St.
Springfield, IL 62704
217-544-0706 (voice)
Sarah.Antonacci@ieanea.org

Indiana State Education Association

Kathleen Berry

150 West Market Street, Suite 900
Indianapolis, IN 46204-2875
317-263-3321
kberry@ista-in.org

Iowa State Education Association

Jean Hessburg

777 Third St.
Des Moines, IA 50309
515-471-8025 or 800-445-9358
Jhessburg@isea.org

Kansas-NEA

Claudette Johns

715 W. 10th St.
Topeka, KS 66612
785-232-8271
Claudette.johns@knea.org

Kentucky Education Association

Sharron Oxendine

401 Capitol Avenue
Frankfort, KY 40601
502-875-2889
soxendine@kea.org

Louisiana Association of Educators

Ashley Davis 8322 One Calais Ave.
Baton Rouge, LA 70809
(225) 343-9243, Ext. 112
1 (800) 256-4523
Fax: (225) 343-9272
mailto:sharon.terrell@lae.org

Maine Education Association

Giovanna Bechard

391 State Road
Elliot, ME 03903
207-622-4418 x2205
Gbechard@maineea.org

Maryland State Teachers Association

Debra Williams-Garner

140 Main St.
Annapolis, MD 21401
410-263-6600
dwgarner@mstanea.org

Massachusetts Teachers Association

Bob Duffy

Ashburton Place
Boston, MA 02108
617-742-7950
Bduffy@massteacher.org

Michigan Education Association

Doug Pratt

1216 Kendale Boulevard
E. Lansing, MI 48826
517-332-5566

dpratt@mea.org

Mississippi Association of Educators

Teresa Robinson

775 N. State Street
Jackson, MS 39202-3086
601-354-4463
trobinson@nea.org

Missouri-NEA

Debra Angstead

1810 E. Elm Street
Jefferson City, MO 65101-4174
800-392-0236
dangstead@nea.org

Montana Education Association (MEA-MFT)

Sanna Porte

1232 E. 6th Avenue
Helena, MT 59601
406-447-1466
sporte@mea-mft.org

Nebraska State Education Association

Al Koontz/Jay Sears

605 South 14th
Lincoln, NE 68508
402-475-7611
Akoontz@nsea.org
Jay.Sears@nsea.org

Nevada State Education Association

Nick Di Archangel

3511 E. Harmon Ave.
Las Vegas, NV 89121
702-733-7330 x5015
Nick_diarchangel@nsea-nv.org

NEA-New Hampshire

George Strout

9 South Spring Street

Concord, NH 03301

gstrout@nhea.org

New Jersey Education Association

Christy Kanaby

180 W. State St.
Trenton, NJ 08607
609-599-4561, Ext 2347
ckanaby@njea.org

NEA-New Mexico

Lesley Myers

2007 Botulph Road
Sante Fe, NM 87505
505-982-1916

lmyers@nea.org

New York State United Teachers NEA-AFT

Debra Ward

800 Troy-Schenectady Road
Latham, NY 12110-2455
518-213-6000, Ext. 6616
dward@nysutmail.org

North Carolina Association of Educators

Jackie Vaughn

P.O. Box 27347
Raleigh, NC 27611-7347
919-832-3000
jackie.vaughn@ncae.org

North Dakota Education Association

Linda Harsche

410 E. Thayer Avenue, Box 5005
Bismark, ND 58502
701-223-0450
linda.harsche@ndea.org

Ohio Education Association

Michele Prater

225 East Broad Street, Box 2550
Columbus, OH 43216
614-227-3071
Praterm@ohea.org

Oklahoma Education Association

Bruce Treadaway

P.O. Box 18485
Oklahoma City, OK 73154
800-522-8091
Btreadaway@okea.org

Oregon

Becca Uherbelau

6900 SW Atlanta St. 

Portland, OR  97223

503-595-2119

becca.uherbelau@oregoned.org

Pennsylvania State Education Association

Paul Shemansky

1188 Highway 315
Wilkes Barre, PA 18702
717-255-7138
pshemansky@psea.org

NEA-Rhode Island

Karen Jenkins

99 Bald Hill Road
Cranston, RI 02920
401-463-9630
Kjenkins@nea.org

South Carolina Education Association

Roger Smith

421 Zimalcrest Drive

Columbia, SC 29210
(803) 551-4131

rsmith@thescea.org

South Dakota Education Association

Sandra Waltman

411 E. Capitol Ave.
Pierre, SD 57501
605-224-9263
Sandra.waltman@sdea.org

Tennessee Education Association

Alex Smirnov

801 Second Ave., North
Nashville, TN 37201
615-242-8392, Ext. 119
asmirnov@tea.nea.org

Texas State Teachers Association

Clay Robison

316 W. 12th St.
Austin, TX 78701-1892
512-476-5355
clayr@tsta.org

Utah Education Association

Mike Kelley

875 E. 5180 South
Murray, UT 84107-5299
801-266-4461
mike.kelley@utea.org

Vermont-NEA

Sherry Gile

10 Wheelock Street
Montpelier, VT 05602
802-223-6375
Sgile@vtnea.org

Virginia Education Association

Tom Allen

116 South 3rd St.
Richmond, VA 23219
804-648-5801
Tallen@veanea.org

Washington Education Association

Dale Folkerts

P.O. Box 9100

Federal Way, WA 98063

253-765-7039

dfolkerts@washingtonea.org  

West Virginia Education Association

Kym Randolph

1558 Quarrier Street
Charleston, WV 25311
304-346-5315
krandolph@nea.org

Wisconsin Education Association Council

Christina Brey

33 Nob Hill Road
Madison, WI  53594

608-298-2519

BreyC@weac.org

Wyoming Education Association

Coleen Haines

115 E. 22nd St., Suite 1
Cheyenne, WY 82001
800-442-2395 x113
chaines@nea.org 


Check out our Read Across America Partners and Supporters 


CONNECT-SHARE-READ!

Pinterest icon facebook icon YouTube icon School Tube Icon YouTube icon School Tube Icon

Get 20% Off + FREE Shipping + FREE Reading is Fun Stickers for your Seussical Celebration!

Advertisement