Skip to Content

Executive Committee, National Education Association

Maury Koffman

Our Leaders

Maury Koffman, an educator, leader, and second-generation union activist from East Lansing, Michigan, was first elected to the National Education Association (NEA) Executive Committee in July 2013 and re-elected for a second term in July 2016. The nine-member Executive Committee is the governing body overseeing the more than 3 million-member Association.

In addition to serving on the NEA Executive Committee, Mr. Koffman is simultaneously serving his eighth term as local president of the 2,300-member Michigan State University Administrative Professional Association, the largest local affiliate in the Michigan Education Association. Mr. Koffman’s mother was also an ESP union president of a local MEA affiliate in Blanchard, Michigan.

Through his union involvement, Mr. Koffman has served an essential role organizing new bargaining units throughout the country and has displayed a strong and effective passion in recruiting, engaging, and retaining member involvement, particularly among younger and newer educators.

Prior to his service on the NEA Executive Committee, Mr. Koffman served two terms as a member of the NEA Board of Directors. While on the Board he served on the NEA Board Steering Committee, the State Media Advisory Committee, and was an elected delegate to the NEA Representative Assembly (RA).

During his tenure on the NEA Executive Committee, Mr. Koffman has chaired the NEA Summer Leaders, ESP, Higher Ed, and Retired Conference Planning Committees. He has also chaired the Annual Meeting Review Committee, trained NEA ESP Leaders for Tomorrow graduates, and served as the NEA representative to NCCESEU, a body representing more than one million ESP members nationwide. Globally, Mr. Koffman chairs Education International’s ESP Task Force.

A graduate of the NEA Emerging Leader Academy, Mr. Koffman’s education includes a bachelor’s degree in international relations and economics and a law degree focused on employment and labor law from Michigan State University. Mr. Koffman has been a licensed attorney in the state of Michigan since 2010.

The NEA Executive Committee includes the NEA president, vice president, and secretary-treasurer, plus six members elected at-large by the Representative Assembly. The committee is responsible for setting general policy and maintaining the interests of NEA and acts for the NEA Board of Directors in between its four regularly scheduled meetings each year.

The National Education Association is the nation’s largest labor union and professional employee organization, representing more than 3 million elementary and secondary teachers, higher education faculty, education support professionals, school administrators, retired educators, and aspiring educators.