Skip to Content

Executive Committee, National Education Association

Kevin F. Gilbert

Our Leaders

Delegates to the 2013 National Education Association Representative Assembly (RA) elected 17-year veteran educator Kevin F. Gilbert, of Ridgeland, Miss., to the Executive Committee. The Executive Committee is responsible for guiding NEA policy and acts for the NEA Board of Directors in between its four regularly scheduled meetings each year. Gilbert began serving a three-year term in September 2013.

Kevin F. Gilbert currently serves as coordinator of teacher leadership and special projects for the Clinton Public School District in Clinton, MS. Prior to serving on the NEA Executive Committee, he served as president of the Mississippi Association of Educators. A veteran educator, Gilbert has worked as a social studies teacher, a coach, and an administrator with the Clinton Public School District (Sumner Hill Jr. High School and Clinton High School); Rankin County School District (Northwest Rankin High School); and the Hinds County School District (Carver Middle School). His educational experience includes bus driving while working in Rankin County, and substitute teaching with the Jackson Public School District. Mr. Gilbert is a graduate of the University of Southern Mississippi (BA 1994, MS 1996), and Mississippi College (Ed.S.2004).

The NEA Executive Committee includes the NEA president, vice president, and secretary-treasurer, plus six members elected at-large by the Representative Assembly. The committee is responsible for setting general policy and maintaining the interests of NEA and acts for the NEA Board of Directors in between its four regularly scheduled meetings each year.

The National Education Association ( is the nation’s largest professional employee organization, representing more than 3 million elementary and secondary teachers, higher education faculty, education support professionals, school administrators, retired educators, and students preparing to become teachers.