Skip to Content

Executive Committee, National Education Association

Princess Moss

Our Leaders

Princess Moss, an elementary school music teacher in Louisa County, Va., was elected to the National Education Association’s (NEA) Executive Committee in July 2011 for a second, three-year term.

A champion of children and public education at the local, state, and national levels, Moss has had more than two decades of education experience. Before being elected to the NEA Executive Committee, she served two full terms as president of the 62,000-member Virginia Education Association. Under Moss' leadership, VEA has increased its membership, lobbied successfully for an increase in retiree health care benefits, and advocated for greater investment in public education at the state and local levels.

Moss has extensive leadership experiences ranging from president of the Virginia Education Association and of VEA District 11 to the position of VEA vice president, which she held from 2000-2004. She has served on the VEA Board of Directors for more than 10 years. She is a leader on such topics as women's issues, minority concerns, political action, school finance, and professional development.

Moss served on the NEA Board of Directors from 1997-2000 and was reappointed in 2006. She is on NEA's Elementary and Secondary Education (ESEA) Advisory Committee, G27 (NEA Tomorrow), Employee Advocacy Committee, Dropout Prevention Advisory Committee, Health Information Network Board of Directors, and is an officer of the National Council of State Education Associations (NCSEA).

In 2006, Virginia Gov. Tim Kaine reappointed Moss to serve on the Commonwealth's P-16 Education Council, which coordinates education reform from preschool through higher education. Her initial appointment was made by Virginia Gov. Mark Warner.

Moss also served on the Executive Committee of the Foundation for Virginia, a 501(c)4 bipartisan coalition of organizations, business leaders, and public officials promoting a better future by ensuring quality education, public safety, accessible healthcare, efficient transportation, and abundant natural resources.

Moss earned her bachelor's degree in music education from the University of Mary Washington in 1983. In 2006, the University of Mary Washington awarded her its Distinguished Alumnus Award. In 2007, Virginia Gov. Tim Kaine appointed her to a four-year term on the University of Mary Washington's Board of Visitors. Moss also earned a master's degree in elementary and secondary administration and supervision from the University of Virginia.

The NEA Executive Committee consists of nine members-three executive officers and six members elected at-large by the Representative Assembly. The NEA Executive Committee is responsible for general policy and financial interests of NEA and acts for the NEA Board of Directors in between the Board's four regularly scheduled meetings each year.

September 2008