Skip to Content

2010 NEA-Retired Awards

Newsletter & Website Competition Winners

Established State Retired Newsletter

First place: Panorama (North Carolina Retired School Personnel/NCAE)
Editor: John Hoffman
Runner up: The AERA Voice! (Alabama Education Retirees Association)
Editor: Keron S. Forte

Local State Retired Newsletter

First place: York/Adams PSEA-Retired Newsbriefs (York/Adams Pennsylvania State Education Association-Retired)
Editor: Dennis B. Sterner
Runner up: Montco Newsline (Montgomery County Pennsylvania State Education Association-Retired)
Editor: Eleanor Boehner

State Active Newsletter/

Magazine Covering Retired issues
First place: MTA Today (Massachusetts Teachers Association)
Editor: James Sacks
Runner up: PSEA Voice (Pennsylvania State Education Association)
Editor: Barbara Brady

NEA-Retired Websites

First place: Arizona Education Association Retired
Runner up: Connecticut Education Association-Retired


Membership awards

Largest Numerical Membership Increase

First place: Alabama Education Retirees Association, Inc.
Runner up: Kentucky Education Association-Retired

Largest Percentage Membership Increase

First place: Kentucky Education Association-Retired
Runner up: Iowa State Education Association-Retired


Distinguished Service Award

Amid the calls to action, NEA-Retired members honored one of their own—Sue Wiele from Davenport, Iowa—with the NEA-Retired Distinguished Service Award. Wiele began teaching in 1948, and to this day she volunteers in the classroom every week.

In fact, she’s so active with NEA-Retired and NEA’s Read Across America, various service clubs, her church, and caring for friends and neighbors that she’s earned the nickname “Energizer bunny.”

Wiele started out teaching first and second graders, and soon transitioned into special education. “We worked hard to give everyone an opportunity to go as far as they could,” she said. She finds the treatment of special education students under NCLB particularly unreasonable: “You can’t put all kids in one little box; every child is different.”

She’s been a Retired member for 20 years, and urges all educators to stay active in NEA after they retire. “If we’re going to preserve public education, we must stay politically involved, help the schools in our districts, and be active in an intergenerational way in the community.”

Kinnaman Scholarship

This year’s Jack Kinnaman Scholarship was awarded to Raya-Jean Zaczyk of New Hampshire. The Kinnaman Fund, named for the late Vice President of NEA-Retired, awards need-based scholarships to students who want to become educators.


Election Results

Candidates campaigned, delegates voted, and the following positions were filled:

Vice President:
Tom Curran was re-elected.
NEA-Retired Executive Council*:
John Jensen was re-elected to a second term
Jean Dobashi was elected to her first term
Board of Directors:
Barbara Cunningham
John Campbell
Alternate for Board of Directors:
Patti Lochner
Resolutions Committee:
Stephen Gorrie
Agnes Chavis
Mary Moran
Martha Livingston
Nancy Lewis
Ulysses Floyd
* As of September 1, 2010, the NEA-Retired Advisory Council will be known as the NEA-Retired Executive Council.

Published in:

Published In



Average User Rating (0 users)

3 stars
of 5.

Your Rating