Skip to Content

Michigan Education Association


Contact Information

1350 Kendale Blvd
PO Box 2573
East Lansing, Michigan 48826-2573
Phone: (517) 332-6551
Fax: (517) 337-5587
www.mea.org        


State Leaders

President

Paula Herbart ( )
W: 517-337-5597
pherbart@mea.org

Vice President

Nancy Strachan (9/1/14 – 8/31/18) (R)
W: 517-337-5509
nstrachan@mea.org

Secretary/Treasurer

Richard (Rick) Trainor (9/1/14 – 8/31/18) (R)
W: 517-337-5500
rtrainor@mea.org

Executive Director

Michael Shoudy (  )
W: 517-337-5510
mshoudy@mea.org


Quick Facts

Salary Info

Beginning Teacher Salary: $36,234
Average Teacher Salary: $62,287

Job Market

Shortage of special education math, science, foreign language and arts teachers, particularly in rural and urban schools. View current job openings.

Certification Requirements

Michigan Department of Education
(517) 373-3324


NEA-Retired

Retired Contact

Paul Helder

State Staff Liaison for Retired
Michigan Education Association
1216 Kendale Blvd., Box 2573
East Lansing, MI 48826-2573

W: (800) 292-1934
W: (517) 332-5462
PHelder@mea.org

Retired President

Judy Foster


Student Program

State Student Leader

Kaileigh Schippa

Student Organizer

Wendy Heinig
Phone: (517) 337-5446
wheinig@mea.org



CONNECT ON SOCIAL MEDIA

Facebook icon Twitter icon YouTube icon Flickr icon LinkedIn icon

 

RELATED WEBSITES