Skip to Content

Executive Committee, National Education Association

George Sheridan

Our Leaders

George Sheridan, a K-12 school teacher in Black Oak Mine Unified School District in El Dorado County, California, was elected to the National Education Association’s (NEA) Executive Committee in July 2014 for a three-year term and reelected in July 2017.

Before being elected to the NEA Executive Committee, George served on the NEA Board of Directors for two three-year terms. He was a member of the California Teachers Association (CTA) Teacher Evaluation Workgroup, which developed a framework to help educators take the lead in the profession and in teacher evaluation discussions nationally. He has also served on CTA’s Assessment and Student Testing Committee for 15 years, and served on the CTA budget committee.

A classroom teacher for 40 years, Mr. Sheridan has taught every grade from 1st through12th during his career. He has also taught graduate courses at California State Sacramento and University of California Davis.

A lifelong activist, Mr. Sheridan marched for the Voting Rights Act as a teenager. He was an organizer and national boycott coordinator for the United Farm Workers, AFL-CIO, for eight years under the leadership of Cesar Chavez and Dolores Huerta. He was first hired by Larry Itliong, the Filipino organizer whose Agricultural Workers Organizing Committee began the Delano Grape Strike, and was close to Philip Veracruz, one of the original strikers and later Vice President of the UFW. He was trained by labor leader and civil rights activist, Fred Ross Sr., who also taught Chavez. Years later, as the first president of the Black Oak Mine Teachers Association, CTA/NEA, he was able to draw on the farm workers’ example and his own years as a boycott organizer to lead successful settlements of contract impasses against intransigent superintendents and school boards.

His goals for the next three years include working for racial justice in education, organizing early career educators around professional issues, and enhancing community partnerships for public schools.

Mr. Sheridan received his bachelor's degree from Loyola University in Los Angeles and an MS in Education from the University of Southern California.

The NEA Executive Committee consists of nine members - three executive officers and six members elected at-large by the Representative Assembly. The committee is responsible for general policy and interests of NEA and acts for the NEA Board of Directors between its four regularly scheduled meetings each year.