Skip to Content

Scholastic Art & Writing Awards

Found In: language arts & literature; 6-8; 9-12

The Scholastic Art & Writing Awards are the nation’s longest-running and most prestigious recognition program for creative teens in grades 7–12. Public, private, or home schooled students in grades 7 through 12 can apply in 28 categories of art and writing for a chance to earn scholarships and to have their works exhibited or published. Past winners include Sylvia Plath, Truman Capote, Joyce Carol Oates, Myla Goldberg, Andy Warhol, Richard Avedon, Alan Arkin, John Lithgow, Robert Redford, and Ken Burns.

Check out the Online Galleries to see what other teens have submitted. Art and writing can be searched and viewed by category and award. Fields can be filtered by year, state, and grade. Explore an interactive timeline, 90 Years of Creativity, to learn more about awards, past winners, and jurors. The timeline features films, documents, and original award-winning work.

The Scholarships and Prizes page lists regional and national student and teacher awards. Awards range from $50 gift certificates to $10,000 scholarships.

See How To Submit Your Work to get step-by-step instructions. NOTE: Region guidelines vary so read them carefully. Find a region’s guidelines using the Find an Affiliate search window.

Meet the 2016 national student poets and download a PDF of their poems at National Student Poets Program. Interested students and teachers will find links to a press release, faqs, and a postcard.

Most questions are answered at FAQs.



Average User Rating (0 users)

3 stars
of 5.

Your Rating