Skip to Content

Legislative Branch

Found in: Lesson Plans

The United States Constitution organized our national government into three independent branches: executive, legislative, and judicial.

The legislative branch consists of the House of Representatives and the Senate, which collectively form the the United States Congress. The U.S. House of Representatives has 435 representatives who represent the people of the United States, based on how many live in each state. The U.S. Senate has two representatives from each state, representing every state equally.


    A nonpartisan news and information Web site devoted to encouraging civic participation. It provides information about public policy issues of the day and tips on effective advocacy so that citizens can make their voices heard. 
  • Daily New 
    Find out what’s happening in Congress every day. 
  • Youth Leadership Initiative
    Access (with registration) to E-Congress, an online legislative simulation, lesson plans, and more. From the University of Virginia, Center for Politics.   

U.S. House of Representatives

U.S. Senate

  • U.S. Senate
    Resources on senators, committees, legislation and records, art and history.
  • The Constitution - Original text and explanation. 

Slide Shows, Videos, Radio Spots

Letter Writing Etiquette

Related Links

  • Civics Education- Learning about the rights and obligations of citizenship.
  • Judicial Branch - The federal court system, which is made up of the United States Supreme Court and a network of courts below it.
  • Executive Branch - Led by the President of the United States.



Average User Rating (0 users)

3 stars
of 5.

Your Rating


  • NEA Tribute to Justice John Paul Stevens
    Justice Stevens’ authored nearly 400 majority opinions, many of them protecting the rights of education employees and students.  
  • Executive Branch
    Led by the President of the United States. 
  • Legislative Branch
    Resources for Teaching About the Legislative Branch of the Federal Government
  • Judicial Branch
    The system of courts that decides arguments about the meaning of laws, how they are applied, and whether they violate the Constitution.