Skip to Content

NEA Human and Civil Rights Awards Program

NEA Human and Civil Rights Awards Program


On April 20th, the NEA Board of Directors took the unprecedented action of transitioning the 2020 Representative Assembly to a virtual meeting and cancelling the Pre-Representative Assembly Meetings and Events due to the outbreak of the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) across the United States.

Unfortunately, this means we will not be convening the 2020 Conference on Racial and Social Justice (CRSJ) nor the Human and Civil Rights Awards. We are currently preparing to roll out how we will present and honor the HCR Awardees creatively and thoughtfully while also preparing a series of meaningful learning and engagement experiences virtually to continue to strengthen our collective ability to fight for racial and social justice.

We intend to honor the legacy of the ATA merger and uplift the HCR Awardees and engage you in the spirit of the CRSJ. Over the next two weeks we will be meeting with committees and stakeholders and will introduce our path forward as soon as possible.

We appreciate your patience and we will be in touch with a vision for lifting up our HCR Awardees and coming together to heal, build community, and prepare to fight with our students and communities for the racially and socially just schools we envision.

In unity,

Conference on Racial and Social Justice & Human and Civil Rights Awards Planning Teams


2020 Human & Civil Rights Award Winners


Award Category


Award Recipient

César Chávez Acción y Compromiso Human and Civil Rights Award  

Voces de la Frontera - Wisconsin

Bio     Video

Ellison S. Onizuka Memorial Award  

 Polynesian Voyaging                           Society - Hawaii

Bio    Video

George I. Sánchez Memorial Award  

 Park City High School’s Dream                 Big Program Melanie Moffat and             Anna Martinez Williams,                 Founders - Utah

Bio     Video

H. Councill Trenholm Award (Black)  

Patricia Payne - Indiana

Bio     Video

Leo Reano Memorial Award  

Benjamin Grignon - Wisconsin

Bio    Video

Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial Award  

Empowerment Network - Nebraska

Bio     Video

Mary Hatwood Futrell Award  

Zulfat Suara - Tennessee

Bio     Video

Reg Weaver Human and Civil Rights Award  

Philando Castile Relief - Minnesota

Bio     Video

Rosa Parks Memorial Award  

Inclusive Communities - Nebraska

Bio     Video

Rosena J Willis Award   No Nominations Submitted

Virginia Uribe Award for Creative Leadership in Human Rights Award


Bonnie Augusta - Wisconsin

Bio     Video

President’s Award


Stacey Abrams - Georgia

Bio     Video