Skip to Content

Human and Civil Rights Awards Program


2014 NEA Human and Civil Rights Awards Dinner

Tonight We Celebrate, Tomorrow We Organize

Nomination Applications for the 2015 NEA Human and Civil Rights Awards will be available on-line starting October 10, 2014.  The 2015 dinner will be held July 2, 2015, in Orlando, Florida.

Every year, since 1967, NEA has honored human and civil rights heroes at a black-tie awards dinner. And every year, those heroes have inspired us.

This celebration is inextricably linked to NEA's 1966 merger with the American Teachers Association (ATA). ATA represented Black teachers in segregated schools, and for many years, it held a human and civil rights awards dinner. After the merger, NEA proudly carried on the tradition.

We honor our past and rededicate ourselves to the unfinished task of creating a just society. We owe it to the children and young people we educate. And we believe, as did Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., that people of conscience, acting together, can achieve "justice for all."


*Only a limited amount of tickets will be available to order onsite starting on the afternoon of June 27 at the Joint Conference on Concerns of Minorities and Women until registration is over, and at the Awards Dinner ticket booth at the convention center on July 1 (9-5) and until noon on July 2, or until sold out.

Meet the 2014 Human & Civil Rights Awards Winners

Award Category

Award Recipient

César Chávez Acción y Compromiso Human and Civil Rights Award

Dr. Rodolfo Acuña


Bio  Video

Ellison S. Onizuka Memorial Award

Senator Daniel K. Akaka


Bio  Video

George I. Sánchez Memorial Award

Mr. Daniel Rodriguez


Bio  Video

H. Councill Trenholm Memorial Award (Black)

Mr. Edward White


Bio  Video

Leo Reano Memorial Award

Coeur D’Alene Tribe


Bio  Video 

Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial Award

Reverend Fred Lee Shuttlesworth (posthumously)


Bio  Video

Mary Hatwood Futrell Award

Miss Malala Yousafzai


Bio  Video

Reg Weaver Human and Civil Rights Award

Mr. Evan Robbins

New Jersey

Bio  Video

Rosa Parks Memorial Award

Mrs. Coretta Scott King (posthumously)


Bio  Video

Rosena J. Willis Memorial Award (Local Affiliate)

El Paso Teachers Association


Bio  Video

SuAnne Big Crow Memorial Award

Mr. Jack Hishmeh


Bio  Video

Virginia Uribe Award for Creative Leadership in Human Rights

Mr. Tim Gill


Bio  Video

Previous Awards Winners



  • 2014 Human and Civil Rights Awards Brochure
  • 2014 Human and Civil Rights Awards Flyer


  • anc_dyn_linksJoint Conference on Concerns of Minorities and Women