Skip to Content

National Council for Education Support Professionals

National Council for Education Support Professionals

NCESP Newsletter

Get the latest NCESP Network News in our Fall newsletter. President's notes, ESPQ Highlights, Members in Action, NCESP's 25th anniversary, and more.

Now Acepting ESPOY Nominations!

NEA will present its 29th annual NEA Education Support Professional (ESP) of the Year Award at the 2020 NEA ESP National Conference on Saturday, March 21, 2020. The conference will be held March 20-22, 2020 at the New Orleans Marriott.

This year all nomination forms are electronic. Hard copy nominations will NOT be accepted. There are five (5) required forms, including:

  1. Nomination Form (to be completed by the nominee);
  2. State Affiliate Acknowledgement Form (to be completed by the State Affiliate President); and
  3. Three (3) Letter of Recommendation Forms.

Nominees must also submit one high-resolution photo via email. All nomination forms and the nominee photo must be submitted by 5:00 p.m. EST on Monday, December 9, 2019.

A state affiliate can choose one of the following two nomination procedures:

State Nomination: A state affiliate may submit one nominee through its ESP award program. A state award system is one developed by the state affiliate that solicits nominations from local affiliates and then selects one statewide nominee. Criteria for the state award may be designed by the state affiliate but must not conflict with the national award’s criteria and purpose. A submission by a state affiliate requires the signature of the state president.

Local Nomination: If a state affiliate does not have an ESP award program in place for the 2019-20 school year, the affiliate may inform local affiliates that they may submit one nomination directly to NEA. Local affiliates are encouraged to send a copy of their nominations to the state affiliate. A submission by a local affiliate requires the signature of the local president.

The 2020 NEA ESP of the Year Overview and links to all required forms can be found at A copy of the nomination guidelines is also available.

We hope you will submit a state nominee and support this effort to honor and elevate ESPs. If you don’t normally submit a nominee, we hope you will this year! Questions can be directed to Lisa Connor at (202)822-7529 or

The National Council for Education Support Professionals (NCESP) works within NEA to represent the specific interests of education support professionals and advocate for ESP issues. Any active NEA member is eligible for NCESP membership. If you are interested in joining as an ESP member, please join as an individual member.  All other NEA members may join as an Associate member.  Please fill out and submit the NCESP membership form or contact

A Leadership Opportunity for Education Support Professionals

The NEA ESP Leadership Institute (ESPLI) is a powerful leadership development program, grounded in diversity, equity and cultural competence that brings together the overarching NEA Leadership Competencies to train ESP members to be effective leaders in their associations. NEA is accepting applications for ESPLI until September 13.

Learn more and apply at

NCESP Executive Committee

Rae Nwosu
NCESP President
Austin, Texas

Vickie Jacquet
NCESP Vice President
Duson, LA

Lois Yukna 
NCESP Secretary
Metuchen, NJ

Karen Slade
NCESP Treasurer
Burlington, NC

Lakilia Bedeau 
NCESP Mid-Atlantic Regional Director
Paducah, KY

Felicia Hampshire
NCESP Southeast Regional Director
Green Cove Springs, FL

Bob McCarty
NCESP Western Regional Director

Kathleen Meltsakos
NCESP Northeast Regional Director
Groveland, MA

Mary Parrish 
NCESP Pacific Regional Director
Wasilla, AK

Mary Ann Rivera
NCESP Midwest Regional Director
North Riverside, IL

GPS Fund Grants

NEA’s Great Public Schools (GPS) Fund enables grant awardees to improve student success. Since 2013, the GPS Fund has provided funds to state affiliates, local affiliates, and partnerships that demonstrate leadership in enhancing the quality of public education and engaging members. Award criteria focus on ensuring successful students, accomplished professionals, dynamic collaboration, and empowering leaders. Go here to learn more about the grants already awarded, about guidelines and deadlines, and about the application process.

edCommunities, NEA’s online professional learning and engagement community, hosts many private and public discussion groups. To connect with groups of educators, school support professionals, and other colleagues about how NEA’s GPS Fund Grants can work for you, first go here to become a member then enter key word Grants in the search function and join the “NEA Grants 4 Great Public Schools” group.


Through the eyes of Sofi, a middle school student, see how Education Support Professionals (ESP) make a difference in the lives of their students, both in and out of the classroom in the video animation, Education Support Professionals: Meeting the Needs of the Whole Student.  
  • anc_dyn_linksKey Facts About NEA's ESP Members
  • anc_dyn_linksEducation Support Professional Careers
  • anc_dyn_linksThe ESP Quality Department
  • anc_dyn_linksESP Members of the NEA Board
  • anc_dyn_linksThe ESP E-mail List