Skip Navigation
We use cookies to offer you a better browsing experience, provide ads, analyze site traffic, and personalize content. If you continue to use this site, you consent to our use of cookies.

National Council for Higher Education

Your advocate for higher education.
National Council of Higher Education logo

Join the Celebration! It's Higher Education Month!

During October, we celebrate the dedicated faculty and staff who ensure our students are able to grab their piece of the American Dream through higher education.

Learn More

NEA/NCHE Higher Educator of the Year Award

The  NEA/NCHE Higher Educator of the Year award, generously funded with a $10,000 award by the NEA Foundation, will be awarded in the spring of 2022. Please share this application with any eligible candidates. The due date is January 18, 2022.

Membership | Join NCHE Now!

To join NCHE or to renew your membership, please click here to use our online membership page (credit cards accepted) or fill out the appropriate form and send it with a check as instructed on the form. 

Individuals/Associates and Organizations may become members of NCHE so that we can continue to lobby for the interests of our 150,000 NEA higher education members.

Please encourage your colleagues and your organizations to join as well.

NCHE Executive Committee

It’s been a while since NCHE members have been able to meet in person. Please take a moment to “meet” the current NCHE Executive Committee through the information provided below. Feel free to reach out to any of these NCHE leaders for information about NCHE or any higher education matters.
DeWayne Sheaffer

DeWayne Sheaffer, NCHE President

Long Beach City College, Long Beach, CA
Alec Thomson

Alec Thomson, Ph.D., NCHE Vice President

Schoolcraft College, Livonia, MI
Nandi Riley

Nandi Riley, NCHE Treasurer

Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University, Tallahassee, FL
Marcia Mackey

Marcia Mackey, Ph.D., NCHE Secretary

Central Michigan University, Mt. Pleasant, MI
Andrew Sako

Andrew Sako, NCHE Membership Chair

Erie Community College City Campus, Buffalo, NY
Philippe Abraham

Philippe Abraham, NCHE Member-At-Large

University at Albany, SUNY, Albany, NY
Suzanne Sublette

Suzanne Sublette, Ph.D., NCHE Member-At-Large

Gateway Technical College, Kenosha, WI
Deborah Williams

Deborah Williams, NCHE Member-At-Large

Johnson County Community College, Overland Park, KS
Vivian Zimmerman

Vivian Zimmerman, NCHE Member-At-Large

Prairie State College, Chicago Heights, IL
National Education Association

Great public schools for every student

The National Education Association (NEA), the nation's largest professional employee organization, is committed to advancing the cause of public education. NEA's 3 million members work at every level of education—from pre-school to university graduate programs. NEA has affiliate organizations in every state and in more than 14,000 communities across the United States.