Skip Navigation
We use cookies to offer you a better browsing experience, provide ads, analyze site traffic, and personalize content. If you continue to use this site, you consent to our use of cookies.
The 2023 NEA-Retired annual meeting
Feature Article

NEA-Retired Celebrates 40 Years and Welcomes a New President

At the 2023 NEA-Retired annual meeting, a salute to history and a look ahead

“NEA-Retired is in the house!” exclaimed NEA-Retired President Sarah Borgman, speaking to more than 300 delegates and members at the NEA-Retired Annual Meeting, held in Orlando, Fla., on June 29 and 30.

Celebrating the 40th anniversary of NEA-Retired, leaders past and present lauded four decades of accomplishments. Just a fledgling group back in 1983, NEA-Retired is now 325,000 members strong and growing!

This year will be a time of change for NEA-Retired, as Borgman ends her transformative two terms, spanning from 2017 — 2023, and turns over the gavel to Anita Gibson, from Alabama. Gibson served most recently on the NEA Board of Directors and previously as president of the Alabama Education Association. 

In recognition of Borgman’s contributions, NEA-Retired honored her with the Distinguished Service Award, the organization’s highest honor. 

“We have accomplished so much because we have experienced … so much,” reflected Borgman. “I know that we will not turn back.”

Left to right, NEA-Retired Secretary Marilyn Warner; NEA Secretary-Treasurer Noel Candelaria; NEA-Retired Vice President Jean Dobashi; NEA Vice President Princess Moss; NEA-Retired President Sarah Borgman; NEA President Becky Pringle
NEA-Retired 40th anniversary celebration, left to right, NEA-Retired Secretary Marilyn Warner; NEA Secretary-Treasurer Noel Candelaria; NEA-Retired Vice President Jean Dobashi; NEA Vice President Princess Moss; NEA-Retired President Sarah Borgman; NEA President Becky Pringle Credit: Justin Green

Happy 40th birthday, NEA-Retired! 

NEA President Becky Pringle, Vice President Princess Moss, and Secretary-Treasurer Noel Candelaria joined in the celebration.

“I am honored to be here with you as you mark 40 fabulous years of power and progress,” Pringle said, adding that NEA-Retired continues to grow “not just in number, but also in influence and strength!”

Generous donations

NEA-Retired is making a difference in elections. Over the last five years, members have contributed over $1 million to NEA’s political action committee. At the 2023 annual meeting alone they contributed more than $42,000—through live and virtual auctions!

And thanks to members’ generous contributions, NEA-Retired awarded five Jack Kinnaman Scholarships in the amount of $3,500 each. Named for a former NEA-Retired vice president, the award helps members of NEA’s Aspiring Educators fulfill their dream of becoming teachers. 

The winners are: Briana Hale (Florida State University); Ashley McCreedy (University of Massachusetts); Elena Sloboda (Arizona State University); Hannah St. Clair (University of Oregon); and Anesha Ward (Capital University, Ohio). 

Ballots cast

Delegates cast their votes in the NEA-Retired elections. JoAnn Smith-Mashburn (Tennessee) and Thomas Wellman (Nevada) were reelected to the NEA-Retired Executive Council. Judy Rohde (Minnesota) and Julie Rivera Horwin (Arizona) were reelected to the NEA-Retired Board of Directors. The NEA-Retired Board Alternates are John Heineman (Nebraska), and Doris Marie Glover (Georgia). The winners of the six seats on the NEA-Retired Standing Committee on Resolutions for 2023 – 2024 are: George Sheridan (California); Kathleen Purdy (Ohio); Sandra Hatley (North Carolina); Bobby J. Pierson (Alabama); Karen Solheim (Georgia); and Ira LaVerne Reed (North Carolina). 

Congratulations to all!

NEA-Retired President-Elect Anita Gibson
NEA-Retired President-Elect Anita Gibson Credit: Justin Green

A new NEA-Retired president! 

The annual meeting drew to a close with the ceremonial transfer of the gavel from President Borgman to the NEA-Retired President-Elect Anita Gibson, whose term begins on Sept. 1. 

“I am honored to stand before you as your NEA-Retired President-Elect,” Gibson said. “Working with you, we will … develop future leaders as we push back against racial and social injustice and against forces that aim to dismantle our public school system. … I pledge to you that with your help, we have nowhere to go but forward.” 

Sam Evelyn Morgan Rock

Learn more about NEA-Retired

Now more than ever the commitment continues. Learn how NEA-Retired works to meet the needs of retired education employees (like Sam Evelyn Rock from the Chattanooga Hamilton County Retired Teachers Assn in Tennessee at right) and how to join.

Get more from

We're here to help you succeed in your career, advocate for public school students, and stay up to date on the latest education news. Sign up to stay informed.
National Education Association

Great public schools for every student

The National Education Association (NEA), the nation's largest professional employee organization, is committed to advancing the cause of public education. NEA's 3 million members work at every level of education—from pre-school to university graduate programs. NEA has affiliate organizations in every state and in more than 14,000 communities across the United States.