Skip Navigation
We use cookies to offer you a better browsing experience, provide ads, analyze site traffic, and personalize content. If you continue to use this site, you consent to our use of cookies.
Press Release

California educator re-elected to NEA Executive Committee

At NEA’s 2022 Representative Assembly in Chicago, a special education teacher in California’s San Bernardino City Unified School District was re-elected to NEA’s governing body.
Published: August 15, 2022

WASHINGTON— Today, the National Education Association, America’s largest labor union, announced that Robert Varela Rodriguez, a special education teacher in California’s San Bernardino City Unified School District has been re-elected to the NEA’s Executive Committee, during NEA’s Representative Assembly. The nine-member governing body oversees the 3 million-member association. Rodriguez began his service on the Executive Committee in 2018. Delegates to the 2022 Representative Assembly cast their votes for Executive Committee earlier this month in Chicago and virtually, with results being announced today.

“We welcome Robert’s continued participation at the national level in helping to make sure every student has caring, qualified, and committed educators and well-equipped schools where they can learn, be inspired, and thrive,” said NEA President Becky Pringle. “He is committed to providing educators with the resources, mentoring, and supports every professional needs to ensure student success.”

A teacher for 17 years, Rodriguez has taught in a special education classroom at elementary and middle schools. He also has taught special day classes and served as a resource specialist.

“I am proud to continue my work on NEA’s Executive Committee and I am excited to continue my commitment to the organization and our vision for great public schools for every student,” said Rodriguez. “The work of the members of the NEA is vital to the success of all our students and educators.”

A leader in education reform and a champion for diversity and LGBTQ rights in schools, Rodriguez believes real and lasting change for educators, students, and public education can only be realized through organizing and collective action. He is committed to ensuring that every student—regardless of race, ZIP code or economic status—has access to great public schools.

Rodriguez was first elected to the NEA Executive Committee in 2018. He previously served for six years on the NEA Board of Directors, three years on the NEA Budget Committee, and completed a two-year term on the California Teachers Association (CTA) Board of Directors, where he also served on CTA’s Sexual Orientation Gender Identification Committee. He also has served for 12 years as a member of the NEA Hispanic Caucus and NEA-LGBTQ+ Caucus.

Robert received his bachelor’s degree in science and a master’s degree in education from California State University, San Bernardino.

The NEA Executive Committee consists of nine members—three executive officers and six members. The six Executive Committee members are elected at-large by the Representative Assembly. The Executive Committee is responsible for general policy and interests of NEA, and acts for the NEA Board of Directors between its regularly scheduled meetings.

Follow us on twitter at 


The National Education Association is the nation's largest professional employee organization, representing more than 3 million elementary and secondary teachers, higher education faculty, education support professionals, school administrators, retired educators, students preparing to become teachers, healthcare workers, and public employees. Learn more at


National Education Association

Great public schools for every student

The National Education Association (NEA), the nation's largest professional employee organization, is committed to advancing the cause of public education. NEA's 3 million members work at every level of education—from pre-school to university graduate programs. NEA has affiliate organizations in every state and in more than 14,000 communities across the United States.